web stats
DICOM Listener Question - Mirth Community

Go Back   Mirth Community > Mirth Connect > Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2014, 07:25 AM
atibbits atibbits is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Salina, KS
Posts: 381
atibbits is on a distinguished road
Cool DICOM Listener Question

How do you find out what AE Title to use for Mirth? I am trying to set up a DICOM Listener and our sending machine is asking for an AE Title. This is my first attempt at DICOM via Mirth so any suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2014, 07:30 AM
narupley's Avatar
narupley narupley is online now
Mirth Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7,089
narupley is on a distinguished road
Default

By default the AE title is blank on the DICOM Listener settings, meaning that requests with any title are accepted. If you want to restrict requests to a single title, you can specify one and then notify the sending machine to use the same title.
__________________
Step 1: JAVA CACHE...DID YOU CLEAR ...wait, ding dong the witch is dead?

Nicholas Rupley
Work: 949-237-6069
Always include what Mirth Connect version you're working with. Also include (if applicable) the code you're using and full stacktraces for errors (use CODE tags). Posting your entire channel is helpful as well; make sure to scrub any PHI/passwords first.


- How do I foo?
- You just bar.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2014, 07:35 AM
atibbits atibbits is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Salina, KS
Posts: 381
atibbits is on a distinguished road
Default

So, basically if I leave it blank in the DICOM Listener settings in Mirth I will not have to worry about what the sending machine has in it for an AE title?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2014, 07:35 AM
narupley's Avatar
narupley narupley is online now
Mirth Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7,089
narupley is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by atibbits View Post
So, basically if I leave it blank in the DICOM Listener settings in Mirth I will not have to worry about what the sending machine has in it for an AE title?
Yep, that's the idea.
__________________
Step 1: JAVA CACHE...DID YOU CLEAR ...wait, ding dong the witch is dead?

Nicholas Rupley
Work: 949-237-6069
Always include what Mirth Connect version you're working with. Also include (if applicable) the code you're using and full stacktraces for errors (use CODE tags). Posting your entire channel is helpful as well; make sure to scrub any PHI/passwords first.


- How do I foo?
- You just bar.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2014, 07:37 AM
atibbits atibbits is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Salina, KS
Posts: 381
atibbits is on a distinguished road
Default

I like that idea! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-27-2014, 08:04 AM
atibbits atibbits is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Salina, KS
Posts: 381
atibbits is on a distinguished road
Thumbs down Need Help Receiving DICOM

I am having the worst time receiving DICOM. I am wondering if I am missing something on setting this up? I just set up a channel as a DICOM listener and I assigned it a port. I left the Application Entity (AE Title) blank so it would be able to accept any incoming AE Title. Then, our Ultrasound tech puts in our IP/Port and then attempts to send to us, but she keeps getting denied. She is able to ping mirth from the machine though, but she cannot send. I haven't changed any of the defaults in the DICOM listener settings.


Any thought on what I should do or what I might be missing?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-27-2014, 08:31 AM
narupley's Avatar
narupley narupley is online now
Mirth Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7,089
narupley is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by atibbits View Post
I am having the worst time receiving DICOM. I am wondering if I am missing something on setting this up? I just set up a channel as a DICOM listener and I assigned it a port. I left the Application Entity (AE Title) blank so it would be able to accept any incoming AE Title. Then, our Ultrasound tech puts in our IP/Port and then attempts to send to us, but she keeps getting denied. She is able to ping mirth from the machine though, but she cannot send. I haven't changed any of the defaults in the DICOM listener settings.


Any thought on what I should do or what I might be missing?
Hmm well, I thought that leaving the AE on the DICOM Listener settings would allow it to accept any AE on an incoming request, but maybe that's not true. Have you tried putting in the correct AE in the DICOM Listener settings? You need to find out what the client is sending and use that.
__________________
Step 1: JAVA CACHE...DID YOU CLEAR ...wait, ding dong the witch is dead?

Nicholas Rupley
Work: 949-237-6069
Always include what Mirth Connect version you're working with. Also include (if applicable) the code you're using and full stacktraces for errors (use CODE tags). Posting your entire channel is helpful as well; make sure to scrub any PHI/passwords first.


- How do I foo?
- You just bar.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-27-2014, 08:41 AM
atibbits atibbits is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Salina, KS
Posts: 381
atibbits is on a distinguished road
Default

That's probably the only thing I hadn't tried. I will go give that a shot!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-27-2014, 10:18 AM
atibbits atibbits is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Salina, KS
Posts: 381
atibbits is on a distinguished road
Default

Well, that was the issue!! Yay, It works now!

Now for testing I have been trying to send the DICOM image to a file. I am unable to get the files to open. I am sending them out as binary. Is there a trick to get that to work? So far, I have tried jpg and pdf with no luck.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-27-2014, 10:31 AM
narupley's Avatar
narupley narupley is online now
Mirth Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7,089
narupley is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by atibbits View Post
Well, that was the issue!! Yay, It works now!

Now for testing I have been trying to send the DICOM image to a file. I am unable to get the files to open. I am sending them out as binary. Is there a trick to get that to work? So far, I have tried jpg and pdf with no luck.
More information is needed. What exactly are you doing?
__________________
Step 1: JAVA CACHE...DID YOU CLEAR ...wait, ding dong the witch is dead?

Nicholas Rupley
Work: 949-237-6069
Always include what Mirth Connect version you're working with. Also include (if applicable) the code you're using and full stacktraces for errors (use CODE tags). Posting your entire channel is helpful as well; make sure to scrub any PHI/passwords first.


- How do I foo?
- You just bar.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dicom

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Mirth Corporation