web stats
Handling A17 message - Mirth Community

Go Back   Mirth Community > Mirth Connect > Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-24-2009, 12:52 AM
aspire aspire is offline
Mirth Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
aspire is on a distinguished road
Default Handling A17 message

Currently we have only one channel configured for ADT messages and it is transforming the incoming HL7 to xml based on the template defined.

We are trying to add support for A17 (Bed swap) message. This required different trnasformation since this message hold 2 patient information.

I would like to know how to achive this using a single channel. If we create more channel then how the cleint will send this message alone to different port.

Thanks
Vijay
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2009, 05:58 AM
jbartels jbartels is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 729
jbartels is on a distinguished road
Default

You want one channel with multiple destinations. While viewing the destinations tab, click "add destination". Set up a filter on each destination to accept/ignore the messages you need to handle (main destination will ignore A17, secondary will accept A17). Set up transformers on each destination to do what you need to do to build your messages.
__________________
Jon Bartels

Zen is hiring!!!!
http://consultzen.com/careers/
Talented healthcare IT professionals wanted. Engineers to sales to management.
Good benefits, great working environment, genuinely interesting work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2019, 01:16 AM
siddharth siddharth is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 841
siddharth is on a distinguished road
Default

Forgive me, but I want to understand a business case where an A17 is useful. Forget about the message for the time being, but why on earth will the hospital management would like to have 2 patients switch their beds or 2 patients willingly want to switch beds? Even if the beds are in 2 different rooms, it still doesn't count.

No matter how I look at it, an A17 doesn't make sense, rather 2 consecutive transfer requests A02s is more plausible.

Even so, if we consider that an A17 is just a medium to inform the HIS application to swap the patients on these 2 beds, how can one implement it?
The only solution I can think of is with involving another bed, which is an equivalent of swapping 2 numbers using a third number.
Or move both beds to a logical state of unoccupied state and then assign them one by one, but that would make it untraceable.
__________________
HL7v2.7 Certified Control Specialist!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2019, 05:16 AM
cory_cole cory_cole is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,360
cory_cole is on a distinguished road
Default

The patients aren't changes beds physically. They were entered into the system incorrectly. You want the system to be correct so that medication is distributed correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2019, 08:05 AM
siddharth siddharth is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 841
siddharth is on a distinguished road
Default

hmm.. that's a valid case.
But consider this..two patients A and B ..both are admotted in same ward/ room for a while. Every IPD process has started to take place. Now the staff realizes they made a mistake and want to initiate a swap in the HIS. The EMR is different.

How shall one convey that this is a case for swap? and that all the IPD services shall resume on the newly assigned beds. That includes the documentation on the discharge summaries. what will appear on them?
__________________
HL7v2.7 Certified Control Specialist!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2019, 08:09 AM
siddharth siddharth is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 841
siddharth is on a distinguished road
Default

Edit- sorry i misread. You are saying that patients still physically remain on the incorrect beds? even after initiatiating a swap?
__________________
HL7v2.7 Certified Control Specialist!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-2019, 08:31 AM
cory_cole cory_cole is offline
Mirth Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,360
cory_cole is on a distinguished road
Default

Patient A is in Bed 1 but the EMR has him in Bed2
Patient B is in Bed 2 but the EMR has him in Bed1.

An A17 will correct the EMR.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
a17, bed swap

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Mirth Corporation