web stats
how to send order message: ORM^O01 to dcm4chee PACS - Mirth Community

Go Back   Mirth Community > Mirth Connect > Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2016, 08:00 PM
peterB peterB is offline
What's HL7?
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 5
peterB is on a distinguished road
Default how to send order message: ORM^O01 to dcm4chee PACS

I am first time here and first time trying to figure out a way to make dcm4chee create a worklist (MWL). Mirth Connect is recommended by many people. My dcm4chee is running and it works with my modality software fine.

So I need your help to use Mirth Connect to send an order message to dcm4chee.

1. because I have to use jdk6 for the dcm4chee, should I use Mirth Connect 3.1.x or the latest 3.4.0 works fine with jdk6?

2. because I am only need to send the order message for now, should I use the Command Line Interface or the regular edition?

3. what are the steps to send the order message out?

thanks,
Peter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-2016, 03:34 AM
hugosoares2 hugosoares2 is offline
OBX.2 Kenobi
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 64
hugosoares2 is on a distinguished road
Default

1. You should use the latest JDK 1.8.x or at least JDK 1.7. and Mirth 3.3.2 (3.4.0 is too early). The latest versions of Mirth have a lot great features and are usually more stable.Simply install Mirth it on another server machine? You can also have multiple versions of JDK running on the same machine.

2. Command-line is just for management. Install Mirth Server.

3. If you are familiar with HL7 v2 you should have no problem building that interface.
First read the user Guide: https://info.mirth.com/Connect_Docum..._Download.html
Then you must set up a channel and decide the type of source connector (the destination will be a tcp sender for dcm4che)
Then you must code the transformation from your source format to your ORM message (like from DB tables to HL7 format). This can be easily done with transformers and message templates.

Last edited by hugosoares2; 06-06-2016 at 03:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-2016, 08:08 AM
peterB peterB is offline
What's HL7?
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 5
peterB is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugosoares2 View Post
1. You should use the latest JDK 1.8.x or at least JDK 1.7. and Mirth 3.3.2 (3.4.0 is too early). The latest versions of Mirth have a lot great features and are usually more stable.Simply install Mirth it on another server machine? You can also have multiple versions of JDK running on the same machine.
If I install multiple version of JDKs on one machine, how can I let the Mirth to use a specific version of JDK?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-2016, 08:44 AM
narupley's Avatar
narupley narupley is offline
Mirth Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7,124
narupley is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterB View Post
If I install multiple version of JDKs on one machine, how can I let the Mirth to use a specific version of JDK?
Depends on how you're deploying it. On all platforms, setting the INSTALL4J_JAVA_HOME and EXE4J_JAVA_HOME environment variables should work. On OSX / Linux you can also edit the mcserver/mcservice file and set the INSTALL4J_JAVA_HOME_OVERRIDE property specifically.
__________________
Step 1: JAVA CACHE...DID YOU CLEAR ...wait, ding dong the witch is dead?

Nicholas Rupley
Work: 949-237-6069
Always include what Mirth Connect version you're working with. Also include (if applicable) the code you're using and full stacktraces for errors (use CODE tags). Posting your entire channel is helpful as well; make sure to scrub any PHI/passwords first.


- How do I foo?
- You just bar.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-2016, 09:01 AM
peterB peterB is offline
What's HL7?
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 5
peterB is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by narupley View Post
Depends on how you're deploying it. On all platforms, setting the INSTALL4J_JAVA_HOME and EXE4J_JAVA_HOME environment variables should work. On OSX / Linux you can also edit the mcserver/mcservice file and set the INSTALL4J_JAVA_HOME_OVERRIDE property specifically.
So during the installation, Mirth Connect will use the JDK specified by this system environment variable: INSTALL4J_JAVA_HOME

And

each time when it is launched, it will use the JDK specified by this system environment variable: EXE4J_JAVA_HOME

is my understanding correct? They are System Environment Variables on the Windows 7 machine?

If yes, why use two variables? one is not enough?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-06-2016, 09:07 AM
narupley's Avatar
narupley narupley is offline
Mirth Employee
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7,124
narupley is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterB View Post
So during the installation, Mirth Connect will use the JDK specified by this system environment variable: INSTALL4J_JAVA_HOME

And

each time when it is launched, it will use the JDK specified by this system environment variable: EXE4J_JAVA_HOME

is my understanding correct? They are System Environment Variables on the Windows 7 machine?

If yes, why use two variables? one is not enough?
No, all of that is not necessarily true. Several possible variables are checked to ensure that the server can run on multiple environments correctly. For example if an install4f-specific variable isn't present, JAVA_HOME will be checked. Of course if you have your Java executable accessible already from the shell, then that version will be used if all else fails. The "_OVERRIDE" variable is something set inside the shell script itself on OSX / Linux to allow you to set a specific JVM home for that particular application.
__________________
Step 1: JAVA CACHE...DID YOU CLEAR ...wait, ding dong the witch is dead?

Nicholas Rupley
Work: 949-237-6069
Always include what Mirth Connect version you're working with. Also include (if applicable) the code you're using and full stacktraces for errors (use CODE tags). Posting your entire channel is helpful as well; make sure to scrub any PHI/passwords first.


- How do I foo?
- You just bar.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-06-2016, 12:32 PM
peterB peterB is offline
What's HL7?
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 5
peterB is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok, I have one Windows 7 machine. I have JDK1.6 installed and used by other software. The JAVA_HOME is set to point to the jdk1.6. I want to run a newer Mirth Connect which will use JDK1.7 or JDK1.8 on the same machine.

Do the following steps will let me run new Mirth Connect, saying version 3.3.2:

1. install jdk1.8;
2. set Windows system environment variable, INSTALL4J_JAVA_HOME, points to jdk1.8;
3. set Windows system environment variable: EXE4J_JAVA_HOME, points to jdk1.8;
4. install Mirth Connect 3.3.2;
5. do something useful and then deploy what I have;

Then the Mirth Connect will running with jdk1.8?

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Mirth Corporation