web stats
How to convert Hl7 2.x to a different version of 2.x - Mirth Community

Go Back   Mirth Community > Mirth Connect > Support

Old 06-04-2012, 05:52 AM
Mirth Newb

tvo is on a distinguished road
Default How to convert Hl7 2.x to a different version of 2.x

Hi everyone, I am new to Mirth and after reading the forums and links online I founded out Mirth is capable of converting HL7 to different versions(for example like 2.3.1 to 2.5.1). All of the links states that this can be done, however there is no explanation. I am having trouble on where to start. Is this the right code to change to a different version of HL7 2.x?

message=message.replace("|ORU|", "|ORU^R01|");
message=message.replace(/\|2\.3.1\|/i,'|2.5.1|');
return message;

Thank you all.
Old 06-04-2012, 06:00 PM
OBX.3 Kenobi

glenn71 is on a distinguished road

Welcome tvo,

To start off:
1. create a transformer step of 'javascript' type.
2. paste a sample msg of what you are receiving into the Inbound Message Template
3. note now in the message trees tab you have a list of segments.. you can drag and drop from the message tree to the transformer rules.
4. in your transformer step add the following javascript:
msg['MSH']['MSH.12'] = "2.5.1";
msg['MSH']['MSH.9']['MSH.9.2'] = "R01";

Have a play dragging from the message tree and changing stuff in your transformer rule.

You will note that you can create transformer rules in the 'source' and also 'destination'. If it is done in the source it affects all destinations.
Old 06-05-2012, 06:06 AM
Mirth Newb

Thank you Glenn, I have followed your directions and when I tried to redeploy the channel I get the following error message: